A Lesson in Paying Attention

A Lesson in Paying Attention

One of my greatest pleasures is running a 2% agarose gel at 200 volts for 25 minutes and getting a decent looking gel. It’s so simple, so basic, but fun and demonstrates so many concepts in science in one fell swoop.
Here, I learned that my transformation was positive in lane 10. If I had been more careful, I would have noticed the faint band in lane 13, which would have given me two samples to sequence, as opposed to one. Dammit. At least I have a fallback, right?

Leave a Reply

