A Crumpled Paper Found in the Garbage

Lonnie,

Honey, I tried and I tried. My stick is only so long, and then it’s not my problem. Here’s your luggage, I put everything you owned into the five bags you own. Two of them were gifts from me, you’re welcome.

When you leave this godforsaken dump, you better take this note with you. You know I’m coming back, and, if you’re still here, these bags will be here too. When you wake up and decide it’s time to fix a cup of coffee, you’ll either read this and ignore it, or pack up and pocket the four dollars I left for Starbucks.

Don’t let me down. Pick up your shit, and go some place better. Leave your needles, take your life, and move on.

M

Leave a Reply

