NaBloPoMo, Day 3: Distance

I have work all day today, so I’m writing this at midnight because NaBloPoMo.

There’s a copy of People magazine, unread since last June, where he stores his notes to her. Like the magazine, they’re all unread. Daniel tries to be coy, but you can’t hide these things from your mother — I made him.

I see it in his glances to her, and her repulsion from him. When they were dating, it was all I could do to get him back home for supper. Now, she suddenly wants to visit me on his days off, and he does nothing but let her come.

I tell her every time to call it quits before the baby starts talking, but I know these kids. They’ll work it out. For a few years, at least. Maybe an “oops” baby along the way. Perhaps she gets too drunk with her girlfriends and booty-calls his best friend. It’s happened before…and she knows I know.

I know everything there is to know about them. It’s up to me to make it in my grandchild’s best interest.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

