NaBloPoMo, Day 14: Bitter

Flashing Red Light

Dear God, the red sirens blaring and flashing. Am I dead?

REPORT OF TRAFFIC ACCIDENT
OCCURRING IN CALIFORNIA
READ IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON BACK

Wait…what? Where am I…what am I looking at?

AS APPROPRIATE, PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT IN BOXES# OF VEHICLES: 1
DATE OF ACCIDENT: 01/14/14
ACCIDENT LOCATION – CITY/COUNTY: LOS BUITRES,  SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY
ON PRIVATE PROPERTY: NO

i dont think im dead. i certainly dont feel dead or feel anything at all. what did i do last night…

Marietta and I walked in together, split up, and met back up at the back of the party. I leaned against the bookcase, my exhalation stirring dust bunnies on a well-thumbed copy of “Paradise Lost.” Milton was blind, and recited the whole tale to his daughters. What a shitty waste of time for those girls. Marietta leaned like I did, and rested her head on the pinewood. She didn’t break eye contact. Smiled.

TIME OF ACCIDENT: 4:26 AM
[ ] MOVING [ ] STOPPED [X] PARKED [ ] PEDESTRIAN [ ] BICYCLIST [ ] OTHER
DRIVING FOR EMPLOYER: NO

Greg’s pad was lame, so I pulled Marietta out to the patio. Lining the planters on the far sides, solar lamps limped from one side to the next, and couples like us made out all over the place. I pulled on her hand, and brought her ear to my lips.

“I wanna get out of here.”

she wanted to too.

We walked back to the car, and she handed me her cup. She said she hadn’t drank any, and I took a big swill. Tasted like the bottom of a coffee cup. Took about all the man in me to swallow, and I tossed the cup to the asphalt before unlocking the Cavalier. Driver’s side.

We rolled out, and I threw the brakes down hard.

what? what was it.

“What the fuck is wrong with you?” Marietta said, looking at me with a smear of eyeliner down her cheek, “I’m lucky I have a left eye!”

She bitched, but whatever. My head was killing me at this point, and I felt dizzy. The road kept slipping out from under me.

“You’re so weird, you know,” she said, “and you’re driving like that little shot caught you already.”

“I fe funne,” I said.

I don’t remember her looking at me after that. I don’t remember. I don’t remember. And I can’t remember, or remember why I can’t remember.

DRIVER’S NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST): EVAN LAURENCE COVINGTON

oh dear god. the flashing lights.

Okay, I remember hitting the highway. There were shrieking sounds around me, and I was feeling shitty. Not shitface, beyond that. That cup.

the cup
THE CUP

I dodged some demon and lost control.

We rolled three times into the ditch, and came to a full stop upside-down.

NAME AND ADDRESS OF INDIVIDUAL INJURED OR DECEASED: EVAN LAURENCE COVINGTON
NAME AND ADDRESS OF INDIVIDUAL INJURED OR DECEASED: MARIETTA CORNELIA GIACOMO

deceased deceased.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

